Tala Ko

ARGH.

Posted on: Monday, 16 June 2008

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve tried to download the Xubuntu alternate ISO. I’ve tried downloading through Firefox’s download manager, a different download manager, and through Transmission (the bittorrent client that  came with Hardy Heron), and for some reason, I can’t get one with the right hash. :(

See, we’re trying to breathe life into an older computer with one of the earlier Intel processors. We want to donate it to someone in the community who needs it more (my dad’s thinking one of the local schools). I suggested that we try Xubuntu – it made sense, considering the age of the machine; also, I wanted to see Xubuntu in action for myself. Giving the beneficiary a GNU/Linux system would keep them safe from malware while they worked AND introduce them to the wonderful world of FOSS.

Trouble is, I can’t get a good copy of the raw CD image. :(

Our neighbor, Kuya Russel, is our go-to guy for tech support, and he told me he’d had an installer CD handy. But it turned out to contain Wubi stuff. I don’t want to just tack the new OS onto the outdated system; I want the latter replaced completely.

Here’s hoping for a successful download by tomorrow afternoon.

Leave a Reply

