Tala Ko

Talang trabaho

Posted on: Saturday, 26 July 2008

Yesterday was my first day at my first job (yay for me!) as a writer/researcher for the website of a local megachurch. :) I’m pretty psyched.

I don’t have a workstation of my own yet, so I had to borrow a laptop from their tech bank. It’s an IBM unit that runs Windows XP. A few minutes into working, and I started to wish for that feature in Ubuntu that keeps a certain window on top, no matter what. :/

But to be honest, what I do in Ubuntu isn’t all that different from what I used to do – and what I have to do again at work – in Windows. My copy of XP is original, too, so I don’t have anything to worry about from the software police. Because I’m not a programmer, I don’t get to fully exercise the freedoms that FOSS offers.

I just like knowing that those freedoms are there, and that they help make the computing world a little smaller and a little bigger all at once. Using Ubuntu and the free programs it comes with is just my way of supporting those freedoms.

Oh, and I finally got to use FirefoxPortable as well. :p It’s fast and it’s mine, but I don’t want to exact too much of a toll on my flash disk. It’ll tide me over till I get a workstation, I guess.

By the way, does anyone know where I can find a portable media player with ogg vorbis support? Locally, if you please. :) Thanks.

I signed up for blip.fm. I think it’s one big collaborative online radio station with Twitter-like features. It’s fun, and I get to hear a lot of interesting music. Check it out. :)

1 Response to "Talang trabaho"

[…] the idea doesn’t surprise me. Sometime ago, I wrote that what I do in Ubuntu isn’t all that different from what I do in Windows. I […]

Leave a Reply

